Helga M. Novak

© Menzel / Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach

Helga M. Novak

Helga M. Novak, born in 1935, grew up in the German Democratic Republic. She was expelled in 1966 as one of the first poets. She then lived in Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia, Portugal, Poland before she returned to Berlin where she died in 2013.

Helga M. Novak has won numerous awards and her fiction and poetry have been widely anthologized.


Droste Prize of the City of Meersburg
Honorary citizen of the City of Erkner
Bremen Literature Prize
Kranichstein Literature Prize
Roswitha Medal of the City of Bad Gandersheim

Brandenburg Literature Prize
Gerrit Engelke Prize of the City of Hanover

Christian Wagner Prize
Saeume Literature Prize
Ida Dehmel Literature Prize 

Titles by Helga M. Novak

Helga M. Novak, As Long As Love-Letters Continue to Arrive. Collected poems (2 volumes)Helga M. Novak, The Frost Saints / Bird Without WingsHelga M. Novak, Residence in a Mad HouseHelga M. Novak, Silvatica. PoemsHelga M. Novak, Where I am NowHelga M. Novak, Love PoemsHelga M. Novak, Trapped. Autobiographical prose 1954-2013